Vernay in sight

FIA ETCR Round 4 - Race BE - Zolder • Hyundai Motorsport N continued to gain momentum at Race BE, the fourth round of the FIA ETCR World Cup held at Circuit Zolder.

The team took the lead in free practice by placing three Hyundai Veloster N ETCR cars in the first two places of the four sessions. The rest of the race confirmed these good results: Jean-Karl Vernay set the fastest lap in the qualifying session of his pool before signing his second pole position of the season in his quarter final.

In the race, a bad start relegated him to second place, but he regained the lead on the following lap thanks to the timely use of his Power Up. Although he was unable to hold off the Cupras and finished his quarter-final in third place, he demonstrated the progress of the Hyundai clan.

In the semi-final, he was unable to convert his pole position into a victory but took a fine second place. Finally, the Super Final arrived. Starting from fifth on the grid, the Frenchman was initially relegated to the back of the field but he did not give up the fight. Three overtaking moves later, he finally took third place to sign his best result of the season.

Jean-Karl Vernay was satisfied with this fourth round: “My weekend started well and ended with pole position and third place in the Super Final. We worked hard to learn the best lessons from our last races and improve the car and our strategies. We had a plan and we executed it very well. I’m a bit frustrated because I had high expectations after my pole position in qualifying, but I started on the dirty side of the track and it was a difficult start. Having said that, we learned a lot during the race and I did my best so there are no regrets. We are looking forward to the next part of the race with the hope of having at least as good a weekend in Vallelunga.”

> Photos

2022 FIA ETCR Drivers’ Standings after round 4

  1. Adrien Tambay 363
  2. Mattias Ekström 342
  3. Maxime Martin 300
  4. Mikel Azcona 268
  5. Tom Blomqvist 262
  6. Bruno Spengler 223
  7. Jean-Karl Vernay 171
  8. Norbert Michelisz 170
  9. Jordi Gené 165
  10. Giovanni Venturini 155
  11. Luca Filippi 97
  12. Nicky Catsburg 94
  13. Kevin Ceccon 72